Tags

, , , , , , , ,

When you’re ridiculously busy!

Ok, so I know it’s been bloody ages since I last posted but seriously – I don’t think I’ve EVER been this busy in my life.

I get up at 6am, go to school, get home between 5 and 6pm, plan lessons/assess lessons/make resources and go to bed.  Repeat x 5 days.  Weekends are then spent catching up on marking books and planning for the next week’s lessons.  I don’t have time to think/do anything other than school school school!  We have to upload our weeks planning by Monday morning, but then you end up changing them every night anyway after each lesson because things may need more input, or what you’ve planned might not be suitable any more so it’s a bit annoying doing all my planning twice!

But I have to say, I’m enjoying it.  Yes it is really really tough, my class really are hard work, but it’s a good challenge.  I was on a course on Thursday where I was chatting to a girl who is teaching at a school in quite a privileged area, the sort of school where I thought I might like to teach…but now I’m not so sure!  The parents apparently spend most of their time moaning/complaining and the children are very compliant (and precious little prince and princesses) – she said she could set the work and leave the room for the whole day and it would still get done.  Oh my, that’s NOTHING like my class!  It’s pretty much me attempting crowd control for the entire day, they’re crazy.  But crazy-fun too.  The girl I was talking to said the kids in her school are like little robots on autopilot and have no personality.  The same cannot be said for my class of little monsters!  They’re bursting with personality and most have a brilliant sense of humour.  Perhaps it’s because their home lives are less than perfect (a lot of drugs/prison/nasty stuff), they feel safer at school.  It’s a very deprived area so the kids are tough (in a number of ways) but despite the behaviour difficulties they do make me laugh.

Some of my favourite comments so far:

That’s shit that Miss” (After being told by the TA they shouldn’t be doing something)

Me: “xxx, if you don’t start some work today you’ll be staying in with me at breaktime”

Him: “Yeah, sound miss, whatever”.  That’s laughin’ that miss”

“Why do we have to learn about Ancient Egypt?  We don’t even live there”

“Is Ancient Egypt in London?  Do they have laptops?”

One 8 year old boy to another “What are you looking at turd face?  You’re a bum licker”

Oh yeah, they’re little charmers alright!  Really though, they are funny.  There are so many more comments they’ve come out with but I can’t remember them all now, I might add more when they come back to me!

The work pressure is pretty intense though.  It’s hard enough trying to shout over a class of very very noisy children all day (trying to prevent fights/arguments/get them to actually do something productive) but then there’s all the planning and assessment stress on top of it.  There is so much I haven’t done in terms of assessment, so many lessons I’m not teaching when I should be (Spanish is just one!), and I’ve not done proper formal assessments when I should have done.  There really isn’t enough time in the day and I know as soon as I meet with my mentor she will kick my ass.  Ooops.  I haven’t been observed yet either which is another thing I’m dreading, my class are probably the last class you would want to be observed teaching considering they can’t seem to sit in their seats for more than 30 seconds.
As far as food goes, it’s kinda ok really.  I haven’t had a Dietitian/Doc appointment in a while so have no idea what I weigh which is probably a good thing.  I’m in the routine of breakfast/snack/lunch/snack/dessert and it’s not much of an issue.  I’m so focussed on school that my mind hasn’t got space for stress about food as well.  I wouldn’t say I’m as confident around food as I’d like to be, i.e there was cake in the staff room today and I didn’t have any when I would have liked some.  This annoys me.  3 months ago I would have, but today I felt unsure, so I think I will try to get an appointment with the Doc at half term and be truthful in that I’m eating fine but sometimes feel a bit wobbly.  I don’t act on the ‘wobbly’ feelings though in the sense of really badly restricting so I don’t know if I should be concerned or not.  Does that make sense?!  I’m not sure how many calories I eat because I try my best not to keep track.

In some bigger news, I might have a flat to rent soon!  Fingers crossed.  I have sent off an application of interest and paid for a credit check so I really hope I get it.  It’s only 10-15 minutes away from where I live now so I can still pop home and see the folks, and it’s closer to school too which will cut my journey time a bit (even though it’s only 20 minutes when the traffic is good!)  I’m excited because the flat is exactly what I’m after, gorgeous character building, big rooms, bay windows, furnished, it’s perfect.  I really really hope I get it!  If all goes to plan I would hope to move in over half term and get settled before starting back at school.

Other than school, I’ve really got nothing much going on.  At all.  I’ve only left the house once at the weekend since I started school and that was to view the flat, I was straight back home to plan so I’m sorry this is such a boring update – such is my life now!

Just thought I should do a quick post to say hello, and let people know I’m still around! xx

