Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Time for an update!

I have just returned from 5 days up in Edinburgh for the Edinburgh Fringe Festival.  It was amazing.  We went last year and then straight away booked our accommodation for this year, it is such a beautiful city and the accent is so lovely, I could happily live there.  Apart from the hills.  My GOD there are a lot of hills.  I hate walking, and I hate hills – that little trip away just made me hate them even more!  Honestly, every venue seemed to be up hill, and then even heading home it seemed to STILL be up hill – how annoying.  We did get taxis back most nights though because we were knackered by that point.

We saw a lot of great shows, between 4-6 each day which is actually quite tiring even though you’re sat in a dark room for an hour for each show.  Apart from 1 show which was 1hr 45 minutes…the stand up got a bit carried away and just kept talking but he was amazing.  That was a late show, we got home about 2.30am so needless to say I was pretty tired when we got back.
Food wise, it was ok.  I tried my very hardest not to dictate where/when we would eat (because this holiday was about all of us, not me me me).  I tried to go with the flow as much as possible, leaving others’ to make the decisions.  Unfortunately, due to the planning of my very obviously non-ed brother, who doesn’t take into account meal times when booking shows we very often ended up eating dinner between 9.30-10.30 which is a lot later than I’m used to…I’m usually in bed at that time!  It was ok though because we always had coffee and cake mid/late afternoon and I took dried fruit/cereal bars to nibble during the shows.  All in all, it went well.

Oh, apart from this bizarre disease I seem to have caught!  Hard to explain, but from last Saturday evening I have been itching from head to toe and my body is now read raw from scratching (I tried to amuse myself by making patterns on my arm, like temporary tattoos).  It’s been like this for a week solid and it so uncomfortable – yet I have no idea where it has come from or why.  I couldn’t get a GP appointment since I was away (and we had so many shows booked sitting in out-of-hours up in Edinburgh wasn’t practical, plus, my bro would have hated me for ruining the plans he has spend a year formulating!)  I did ring and speak to the GP who said to take antihistamines, which have helped a little but not a great deal.  My index finger has also doubled in size, bizarrely, and I can’t bend it.  I feel like my hand is one of these:

As you can imagine, I look super fit 😉

If it is still no better by tomorrow (Monday) I will get to the Docs because it’s really getting on my nerves now.  I initially thought it might be the Fluoxetine and missed my tablet on Sunday because I was in so much pain, but after speaking to the GP on Monday he said it’s unlikely to be that because I’ve been taking it for 4 weeks so I have continued it since then and it hasn’t got significantly worse so fingers crossed it improves.

In other news…perhaps TMI…but my period finally came!  Oh my.  I honestly and truthfully thought my body was broken and that it would never come.  I was getting so down because in my eyes, I was “fat” (I’m not) for no reason – what the hell is the point in gaining all this weight if my body isn’t working?   I felt useless.

Well, 7, or possibly more (I can’t remember, it’s been that long!) years later it has finally arrived.  I’m so relieved to know I’m not broken forever, and more relieved that my bones can start repairing themselves now.  Since getting the results of my bone scan a few months ago I have been so scared of the damage I have already done to my body through not eating properly so now my periods have returned hopefully I can start rebuilding some nice strong bones 🙂
Now I am home again I’m trying to get to grips with some planning but finding it impossible to know where to start at the moment.  Should I concentrate on Literacy and Numeracy?  Or Science, Geography, Art, DT, History, Music, ICT, Spanish (Spanish!!!), RE, SEAL, P.E?…OH MY.  Stress levels are through the roof.  I need to learn a lot of stuff in two weeks and get it down on paper…instead I’m reading/writing blogs (procrastination much?!)

Still no news on the flat hunting side of things either, one I looked at has now been let because I’m too slow and indecisive and nothing new has been listed in quite a while so I’m still on the look out.  Right, I’ll leave it at that because I really should start doing some work.  Eurgh.

