Tags

, , , ,

I have just had a telling off from the supply agency for not answering my phone.

“We are extreeeeeeeeeeemely busy at the moment, and you could have been working every day, as a teacher”

Do I want this?  I thought I did, it’s why I trained as a teacher obviously, but the longer I’ve been out of the classroom the more scared I feel.

I honestly don’t think I could cope with facing a class I don’t know.  I’ve only ever taught during school placements where you get to know the children, their abilities, their behaviour.  But supply teaching?  That’s a whole different ball game.

You have no idea what year you’re teaching, the children could be 4 years old or 11, likeliness is there will be no work left so you have to think on your feet to teach Numeracy, Literacy, Geography, Science..etc etc.  I don’t think I can do this.  I don’t know what children in Year 3 should be covering in numeracy at this time of the year, or what Year 6 need to know about Electricity, I need time to prepare!

I have an interview next week and have spent 3 weeks, yes weeks planning an hours lesson.  Ridiculous.  If it’s taking me this long to plan one damn lesson (and it’s still nowhere near finished) how could I make up a whole day’s teaching on the spot?!

They are going to call me back this afternoon.  I hope I answer the phone, but not sure if I will.  I’m scared I’ll be rubbish.  Hmph.

Nutella Cake?  This is definitely one I need to try!

