Tags

, ,

Still no job.  It’s driving me crazy.  I have lost count of the amount of applications I have sent out, and I have had interviews, but nothing has come of them.

The teaching profession is so competitive, there are very few jobs actually being advertised at the moment so I’ve been sat twiddling my thumbs while my fellow teacher friends are working themselves ridiculously hard.  I feel half guilty for doing absolutely nothing with myself, but the other half is secretly relieved I don’t have the added pressure of planning, preparing resources, making sure the children are on track, assessing, levelling, and all the other things which go along with being a teacher!  The fact there are no vacancies close to home is another thing which is irritating me (although it’s obviously completely out of my control), my most recent interview was in a county 2 hours away from where I live at the moment.  I can’t help but wonder what would happen if (and it’s a bit ‘if’) I did manage to find a job away from here.  Part of me would embrace the freedom of a new challenge, a change of scenery and a fresh start, the other part worries I’d slip and go backwards from recovery without the constant pressure & beady eyes of my friends and family keeping tabs on me.  Hmm.  Something to consider if and when it actually happens I suppose, although it doesn’t look like it will be any time soon!

The fact I am completely skint, bored and unmotivated is a real pain.  As I’ve nothing much at all to do in the day, I spend the time mooching on the internet at recipes I’ll never cook, drool over meals I wouldn’t attempt, and seek out ‘low fat’ versions of my favourite cakes which again, I’ll probably never attempt.  I think it’s important to get my head 100% straight when I do manage to get a job.  It wouldn’t be fair on the children I’m teaching if half my attention is on doing the best for them, with the remainder worrying about what I might be making for tea, or debating whether I should have any of the cake in the staffroom.

Another pointless rambling post.  I really need to think of something eloquent and inspiring to write one day, as opposed to just moaning and ranting as I seem to be doing so far!  I’ll finish with a very pretty looking Chocolate & Hazelnut Mousse:

 

